Julie Chami

Julie Chami is completing her Ph.D. at Cambridge University.  Born in Syria, she immigrated first to Hungry and then to Illinois.  She initially enrolled in my macroeconomics course; then I directed her Senior Honors paper (I think I persuaded her to transfer out of Political Science to Economics) and then won a coveted scholarship for all of her doctoral work.  Julie is the Founder of “Entrepreneurs without Borders” for which the U of I holds the global trademark.  She blew into my office one day with the idea; we called Dr. Slovica Singer who I worked with in Croatia in a matter of weeks, 20 of our students spent two weeks in Croatia in Josef  _________________________University, that became the first international charter program.  Julie is working the economics of infectious diseases in Africa.

Leave a Reply

